Defiance

“I make no apologies for how I choose to repair what you broke.” -Meredith Grey

I refuse to apologize to you for being too harsh, too cruel, too outspoken.   With you, there is no such thing.  There are no words harsh enough for what you did.

I will not apologize for not becoming what you tried to beat into me, what you tried to beat into us.  I refuse to let your icy handprints on my face infiltrate my soul.

I will not apologize for not fixing my defiant face to a more  palatable one in the face of your cruelty.  I am proud of what I did as a child. I am proud of who I am in spite of my parents.

I will not apologize for not letting you touch me at all.  For refusing to play pretend with a childish grown up.  Your games are beneath me.

I refuse to apologize for refusing to darken the doors of that dank slimy place with a steeple. You don’t deserve to be offended.   You don’t deserve me.

I refuse to apologize for who I am anymore.  You don’t get to critique the way I heal from the way you tried to shatter me.  I belong deeply to myself.  I am fire and you are dust.

Defiance.

 

